German Cooking: Cauliflower with Crispy Breadcrumbs

I was in the store the other day and I overheard two women discussing German cooking. They were looking at jars of sauerkraut and one woman said, “What is German cooking anyway”. The other woman shrugged and said that it was only sausages and sauerkraut. I wanted to interrupt them and set them straight, but decided against it.

Germans have so much to offer with their cooking. When I was in high school I was in the German Club and one of the things that I suggested we do is ask the ladies in the German Club of Santa Barbara to join up with us and teach us about traditional German food and share their culture with us. It was a real success. Every week we went over to our German teacher’s mother’s house and she and a few different ladies taught us not only how to cook, but about table manners and how to set a traditional German table. We would cook the food and then we would sit at the table and share the meal.

These women were great. I learned so much from them that I apply to my every day life. I learned simple things too like how to separate the yoke from the white or how to brown, but not burn butter. I learned the differences between a German, an English, and an American table setting. I also learned what to do with my silverware and what each element of the setting was used for. They, in a way, taught me how to be a lady. I think this type of education is necessary and often lost with each new generation. I definitely value the time I spent with these women.

Today when I was looking for something to make for lunch, I stumbled on a whole bunch of cauliflower and thought, what better way to use it than my favorite German recipe for cauliflower. I am sure it has a name, but I cannot remember it and the interwebs are failing me. It is essentially steamed cauliflower with browned butter and crispy breadcrumbs.

Cauliflower with Crispy Breadcrumbs
Ingredients (Makes 4 servings)
1 head, small (4″ dia) Cauliflower
3 tbsp 37% Light Buttery Spread
1/4 cup breadcrumbs

Directions
1. Over high heat, steam cauliflower head (whole). Steam for 10 minutes or until fork easily goes through.

2. While cauliflower is steaming, brown butter over moderate heat (about 4 minutes). Once butter is ready, add breadcrumbs and cook until crispy (about 3 minutes)).

3. When ready to serve, quarter cauliflower and sprinkle breadcrumbs over the top. (serve immediately)


I didn’t take a picture of mine, so I borrowed this one. You can view the blog post here: A Cat In the Kitchen

One response

Leave a Reply

