BHG New Dieter’s Cookbook

I am currently using the Better Homes & Gardens New Dieter’s Cookbook to get most of my recipes. I spent a good amount of time in the bookstore looking over it before I bought it. I liked that all of the entrees were between 200-300 calories and all of the sides were 100-150 calories. I also liked that most of the entree recipes were enough food to fill you without the sides and most of the sides looked like they would make good entrees. I also liked that every recipe had a picture. Not just any picture, but a picture that looked appetizing.

I bought the book, picked a recipe, and went home and made it. I chose the Spinach Lasagna Rolls that were calculated at 214 calories per roll. I changed a few things. I used whole wheat noodles, fresh spinach, fat-free cottage cheese, no tomato sauce, no nutmeg, and added 2 sweet italian sausage links. I also thought that since it was so low in calories that I would have 2 rolls instead of 1. Though I have to say, 1 roll would have been enough especially since I served it with broccoli and mozzarella cheese.

My Version with Nutrition Info

It came out so good and I was very pleased that I bought the book.

Leave a Reply

