I’m Hungry

Well, yes Dear, it’s a diet.

I was having my lunch, which included a whole wheat toasted cheese sandwich and Italian meatball soup (369 calories) and I read on Calorie Count.com the title of someone’s post was I’m Hungry. The only thing I kept thinking was, well, that’s good, you’re doing it right. I have lost a few pounds and since I started being serious about the amount of calories I am supposed to be eating, I admit, I have been going to bed hungry. I am in no way starving, but I have to deal with it. I mean I am going to make mistakes, anyone would when going through a lifestyle change, and anything is better than doing nothing, but I have to accept that I am going to be going to bed hungry for a while. When I see the number on the scale go down, it is completely worth it.

I started using Calorie Count.com as a dieting source back when I was at my heaviest in 2007. I really like a lot of the features and it is a good source of information with a lot of community features. The best part is that it is free. I paid for Weight Watchers and I did lose 10 lbs until I plateaued, but I stopped because spending the money was not enough of a motivating factor to get me to really take advantage of it. Calorie count is great because I don’t lose anything, other than weight, if I don’t use it. It is a great resource because it allows you to not only track your calories, but know how well you are doing nutritionally and gives you the information in multiple different ways: pie charts, graphs, personal recipe nutrition labels, and even grades.

However, all that withstanding, the only thing that helped me really lose weight is portion control and activity. It wasn’t until I moved to Europe and lived without a car on the 4th floor with only stairs did I lose weight. I didn’t even count calories. I was there 6 months and I lost 30 lbs. However, we can’t all up and go to Europe. I was also a student and couldn’t afford things like meat very often. I also couldn’t afford to go out to eat very often. I was also not used to their store hours and products, so if I forgot to go to the store to buy food for dinner, I didn’t eat and if I did it was whatever I had like nutella and walnuts or an egg. Since I was not familiar with the products I cooked with mostly things I could identify like vegetables and made the rest from scratch. Oh yes, I had my indulgences like french fries at least once a week smothered in mayonnaise and curry ketchup, but I walked everywhere and rode my bike when it was too far to walk. That and everything was within a 20 minute walk from where I lived.

When I came back to the states I couldn’t simply continue my lifestyle. I had to drive 45 minutes from where I lived just to get to work. Everything is so spread out here, you almost have to have a car. It is nearly 2 years later and I am right back where I started in 2007. I am fighting it though. Gaining 25 lbs in the first year back was hard. Losing it all again I have to accept will be even harder, but I am going to do it.

Leave a Reply

