Mr. Pita by Sara Lee

For whatever reason, I cannot find an image of Sara Lee’s Mr. Pita to show you, but this is the best pita ever.

Normally commercially prepared pita bread is anywhere from 130 – 170 calories. Sara Lee’s pita bread is 90 calories for white and 80 calories for wheat. This is for the entire pita, not half like some other fakers out there. I discovered this amazing wonder at my last trip to the grocery store. I walked up to the pita section and I see this lady grabbing handfuls of bags of this pita. She had to have grabbed 20 bags of pitas. I thought, wow, this lady means business. So I waited till she was done and checked out the package to see what was so special about them. I was amazed at how low in calorie they were and grabbed a couple bags for myself. It is a good thing there were some left! I was so pleased that I almost followed her around the rest of the store to see what else she picked out.

The pita itself did not lose any of it’s deliciousness in the reduction of calories. It doesn’t taste any different to me than any other brand out there. I highly recommend it to you and would not personally buy another brand now that I have found this flat bready goodness.

I have made some lovely pita pizzas that I have been very pleased with.

Cheeseburger Pita Pizza
1 pita
1/8 lb ground beef
4 mushrooms
1 slice bacon
2 slices American cheese
1/2 tsp minced onion
1 tsp ketchup

363 calories, 16.3 fat, 7.8 g sat. fat, 1.4 g fiber, 31.5 g protein

Garlic Pita Naan
1 pita
1 tbsp garlic paste
1/2 tsp minced onion
1/2 tsp parsley
cooking spray

95 calories, 1 g fat, 18.6 g carbs, <1 g fiber, 3.1 g protein

I made the garlic naan recipe last night. It was a surprisingly perfect addition to my curry and was the inspiration for this post.

3 responses

  1. Hello! In your post you mentioned store, pita section…in what STORE were you able to find those Sara Lee Pitas?! Please! We cannot find them anywhere! Thank you!

    • Hello Tatiana,

      I did some looking online and it looks like Sara Lee doesn’t distribute their Mr. Pita product to all states. I bought mine in the bread isle at Safeway in Northern California. Short of calling Sara Lee and asking, the internet is not a good source of info, however, your local store might have a product listing.

Leave a Reply

