Almost lost 10lbs!

A few weeks back I finished the 2 week diet plan and am pleased to say that I lost 8 lbs. I took a break from the diet and actually over ate quite a bit, but didn’t gain much. We had been going out more since he will be eating indigenous foods over the next 6 weeks and will miss things like cheeseburgers and pizza. James left for Africa on Saturday, so I decided to cook more from the BHG New Dieter’s cookbook. The reason I decided to stick to the book and start counting my calories again was because on Saturday I hopped on the scale and saw that I had gained 4 lbs. I knew that most of it was water weight due to cyclical hindrances, but still, I needed to get a handle on it.

After two days of cooking and counting and the fact that the Communists ceased to be invading, I weighed myself this morning and am down to 159.5. One more lb and a half and I will have lost 10 lbs. It is cause for celebration. I still feel like a heffer though. I feel heavy in my own body, but I have nearly lost a dress size. Why that happens, I will never know.

I sometimes wonder if I will ever be happy with myself. Even when I returned from Europe after having lost 30 lbs, I wanted to lose 10 more. It was the best I had felt in years and it still wasn’t good enough. Then I went and gained 20lbs back. I will never be 135 again, I know that. I don’t even think I would want to. I was 135 in high school. I am a woman now and I want to look like one.

Enough of that, here is a recipe.

I cooked spaghetti squash for the first time for dinner last night. It was surprisingly easy and very tasty. I think more sauce would have been a good thing, but it was still plenty. I was so full that I almost couldn’t finish it. I made myself though because I was already under my calories for the day. With only 1200 calorie intake, I need to make sure to get all 1200.

Spaghetti Squash in Vodka Meat Sauce with Vegetables
5 cups spaghetti squash (1 large)
2 carrots
1 cup broccoli
1 clove garlic
1/2 onion
1/2 green pepper
1 cup vodka sauce
1/4 lb ground beef

353 calories, 10.4g fat, 3.2g saturated fat, 3.9g fiber, 26.3g protein

Leave a Reply

